Friday Night Opening at Blackbook

So I went to go check out the opening of the group show at Blackbook on Friday and I was very impressed by the work that all 3 artists put in the show. I won’t bore you by showing you pictures of every piece in the show but I’ll show you my favorite piece from each artist real quick…

20120806-092612.jpg
This is my favorite Jim Houser piece. I think he had the most impressive collection at the show. I live his style very fun and playful.

20120806-092811.jpg
Evan Hecox’s work is always really impressive. I feel like this was his only piece in the show that really had his “classic” look to it. It seems as though his exploring more in to typography and geometric shapes in his other pieces.

20120806-093106.jpg
Shepard Fairey’s work is always impressive mostly because there’s so much of it. That guy is still he hardest working man in art I think. This was my favorite piece by Fairey mostly because I love Public Enemy I guess. So those were the highlights of the show for me. But remember this is Blackbook so there is much more going on around you and it’s not hard to find more great art.

20120806-093506.jpg
For instance, the London Police mural. Very nice…

20120806-093609.jpg
Some work of my favorite local artist, John Fellows.

20120806-093703.jpg
And lastly a Jeremy Fish print. You gotta love that. All in all a great show and I really hope you make it to check out the work. I leave you with this last thing:

20120806-093907.jpg
God damn good advice. Sorry for the shitty photographs that’s why you need to check it out in person I suppose… Well see you soon internets.

About kingfridayinc

An independent skateboard press and art depot in Golden, CO. We just make stuff for fun and stupid shit to make people laugh. Everything is made out of love and made completely by hand. Much love.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

